U.S. Government Sanctions 28 Crypto Addresses by Executive Order

Tainted Coins

The U.S. Department of the Treasury announced that President Biden had issued executive order 14024 titled “Blocking Property With Respect To Specified Harmful Foreign Activities of the Government of the Russian Federation."

In part, it sanctioned a total of 28 cryptocurrency addresses belonging to the individuals on the list. While the addresses were mostly Bitcoin, Litecoin, and Ethereum, there was a Dash address and Zcash t-address in there as well.


  1. home.treasury.gov/policy-issues/financial-sanctions/recent-actions/20210415

Marathon Announces Plans for an OFAC-Compliant Mining Pool
LocalBitcoins Bans Xanthusqueegly for Sending Funds Directly to a Darknet Market